Guest Posts, Link Building, SEO, Pay-Per-Click campaigns
Advanced Search
Home / News / Local News
Local News

Zayed Future Energy Prize Announced Top Six Finalists To Compete For The $2.2 Millon USD
(22 December 2010)


The Zayed Future Energy Prize, has announced the top six finalists to compete for the 2011 Prize. Inspired by the vision and environmental stewardship of the late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, Founding Father of the United Arab Emirates, the Prize recognizes and rewards outstanding work in renewable energy and sustainability.

The six finalists were selected from a total of 391 submissions from 69 countries through a very rigorous and transparent evaluations process based on three main criteria: long-term vision, innovation and leadership. The Prize consists of a four-tier evaluation process which started with a reputed research and analysis company, to conduct due-diligence on all 391 submissions based on the criteria of the prize, from which derived the shortlist of the top 100. Those 100 entries were then culled down to the best 40 by the Review Committee, from which the Selection Committee has now determined the six finalists to be presented to the Jury.

This year the competing six entries are:

Amory B. Lovins, the Chairman and Chief Scientist of the Rocky Mountain Institute in Colorado, for his work on “integrative design” for energy efficient buildings. Lovins describes “integrative design” as a powerful and globally applicable new tool for shifting rapidly from oil and coal to efficiency and renewables.

Barefoot College, the only fully solar electrified College in India, for training woman in rural areas to contribute to solar energy development. The college believes the very poor have every right to have access to, control, and manage and own the most sophisticated of technologies to improve their own lives. 

E+Co, an investment company based in New Jersey, for its pioneering clean energy investments in the developing world. E+Co supports and invests in small and growing clean energy enterprises in developing countries t impact climate change and energy poverty. 

First Solar, solar modules manufacturer based in Arizona, for its commitment to solar energy and the development of more efficient thin film solar modules. First Solar has developed an innovative photovoltaic technology focused on affordability as well as sustainability and is the preferred module supplier for major PV projects globally. 

Terry Tamminen, CEO and Founder of 7th Generation Advisors, for his work in developing renewable energy solutions in California. For more than 20 years, Tamminen has developed, implemented and replicated effective renewable and sustainable energy solutions by using California as a proof-of-concept model, then scaling up to larger markets within the US and internationally. 

Vestas, a Danish manufacturer of wind turbine technology for its work to bring clean energy to developing countries. For over 30 years, Vestas has been introducing innovative ideas to promote clean, renewable wind power as one of the world’s mainstream power solutions. They are relentlessly committed to establishing wind as a large-scale, sustainable alternative to oil and gas.

Announcing the shortlisted entries Dr Sultan Al Jaber, Director General of Zayed Future Energy Prize, said “We are committed to inspire future energy innovators around the globe to ensure the development of green technologies to help preserve our natural environment. It is our ambition to make Abu Dhabi a global hub for sustainable energy leaders.”

Razan Al Mubarak, Managing Director, Emirates Wildlife Society, World Wide Fund for Nature and Chairman of the Selection Committee said: “We had a hard time selecting these six entries, the nature of the work of each candidate was exceptional, we analyzed each entry from different angles. The jury will have a very tough choice as all six that we have selected have made a really significant contribution to renewable energy and sustainability.”

The winner, to be announced on 18th January 2011 during the World Future Energy Summit (WFES) in Abu Dhabi, will receive $1.5 million USD. In addition, two other runner-ups will receive up to $350,000 USD for outstanding work in the field of renewable and sustainable energy.

The 2011 jury is led by Dr. R.K. Pachauri, the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Jury members are; Ólafur Ragnar Grimsson, President of the Republic of Iceland; H.E. Eng. Khaled Irani, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Jordan; H.E. Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, Chairman Masdar; Lord John Browne, Managing Director of Riverstone Holdings; Lord Norman Foster, Founder and Chairman, Foster and Partners; and Dr. Susan Hockfield, President, Massachusetts Institute Of Technology.

For more information please visit

We accept Guest Posts

Download the Dubai City Guide iPhone mobile app is owned and managed by Cyber Gear

advertisement info

  All fields are mandatory
Your Name
Your Comments
 Max 250 characters - Word Count :
Image Verification
Change Image


email print

News Alerts
News Alerts
Stay ahead with abu dhabi news
dcg mobile
adcg Mobile
With you wherever you go
rss feed
RSS Feeds
Get the latest
dubai blog
Abu Dhabi Blog
Your space, your voice
ADCG at a glance